League Play Begins Friday For Shelby, Plymouth

Daily Globe Sports Editor

Shelby will look to bounce back from last week's crushing football loss when its begins Northern Ohio League activity Friday night against Sandusky.

The Blue Streaks will invade W.W. Skiles Field at William J. Wilkins Stadium searching for their first win of the season after having been beaten by Huron (30-6), Sandusky Perkins (31-0) and Fremont Ross (42-20) during the previous three weeks.

The Whippets enter the fray with a 1-2 ledger and must regroup after a 20-19 loss on the road against Clear Fork. In that game, SHS had a lead entering the final minute, but watched the Colts move 69 yards in less than 30 seconds. A 46-yard bomb from Kadin Chrastina to Dillon Smith was the game-winner.

Since joining the NOL in the fall of 2011, the Blue Streaks have knocked off Shelby three straight times by scores of 26-6, 27-21 and 20-6. The two schools have met a total of eight times with each winning four times.

In last week's loss to Fremont Ross, Sandusky fell behind 42-7 late in the third quarter.

Quarterback Brady McKillips completed 10 of 22 passes for 147 yards for the Blue Streaks. Ben Fuller rushed 12 times for 74 stripes.

Freshman signal caller Brennan Armstrong anchors the SHS ground game with 353 yards on 39 carries.

Defensively, Colten Harvey and Dylan Shaffer are Shelby's tackling leaders with 31 and 29, respectively. Derek Rose and Shaffer each have 3.5 sacks for the red and gray.

Kickoff Friday night is scheduled for 7 p.m.


The big one on the first night of conference play is the game in Seneca County that has Norwalk (3-0) at Tiffin Columbian (2-1). The Tornadoes are the defending league champs. Willard (0-3) seeks its first win with a trip to Ontario (1-2). In a non-league matchup, Bellevue (2-1) is at Toledo Waite (1-2).


Undefeated and state-ranked Plymouth (3-0) kicks off play Friday night in the Firelands Conference with a trip to Mapleton (1-2). The Big Red are coming off a wild 35-34 come-from-behind victory on the road against Harrison Central. The Mounties won last year's meeting with PHS by a 47-19 score.


Quarterback Hunter Bailey has completed 28 of 44 passes for 660 yards and nine touchdowns. He's also rushed 44 times for 289 yards. Chance Butcher has gained 262 yards on the ground. Tyrell Edmiston has hauled in 18 passes for 452 yards and scored eight TD's. Butcher leads PHS with 41 tackles.

Special Links

Twitter Feed

Menards Ad

Local Videos